first stop in africa: ethiopia. {preparations.}

Friday, October 5, 2012:  I would never have thought of visiting Ethiopia.  As a matter of fact, I specifically said on my bucket list that I would go to Lebanon over Eid al Adha in 2012.  However.  With the refugees that are pouring into Lebanon from Syria now, the U.S. State Department advises travelers to stay away:

THREATS TO SAFETY AND SECURITY: The current Department of State Travel Warning advises U.S. citizens against travel to Lebanon. U.S. citizens who visit or reside in Lebanon despite the Travel Warning should be aware that there are a number of serious security concerns, and should consult the Travel Warning for up-to-date information.

U.S. citizens traveling to Lebanon should also be aware that personnel from the U.S. Embassy are not able to travel in all areas of Lebanon. In the case of an emergency involving a U.S. citizen in areas where it is unsafe for Embassy personnel to travel, the Embassy may not be able to render assistance.

In the event that the security climate in the country worsens, U.S. citizens will be responsible for arranging their own travel out of Lebanon. U.S. citizens with special medical or other needs should be aware of the risks of remaining given their condition and should be prepared to seek treatment in Lebanon if they cannot arrange for travel out of the country.

SO.  I was in a dilemma.  I debated whether I should go to Prague, which would be expensive following on the heels of my recent trip to Greece, or to Zanzibar or Sri Lanka, the destination of choice for many of my colleagues here in Oman.  Finally, my long-time friend, who works at the U.S. Embassy in Addis Ababa, suggested I come to Ethiopia.

That was that.  I promptly bought my ticket, which will depart Muscat early the morning of October 25 (happy birthday to me!).  I’ll stay in the country for 8 days and depart Addis late on Thursday, November 1, arriving back in Muscat early in the morning of Friday, November 2.  This is the Eid Al-Adha holiday in Oman; the same holiday during which I went to Jordan last year.

Now, I am reading up on Ethiopia in Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea.  The more I read, the more excited I am becoming.  It’s amazing how little I knew about this country in the Horn of Africa. I am learning about the Kingdom of Aksun, the Queen of Sheba, the coming of Christianity and Islam, the Zagwe Dynasty and its rock-hewn churches of Lalibela, the Ethiopian Middle Ages, the Muslim-Christian Wars, the rise and fall of Gonder, Emperor Tewodros, Emperor Yohannes, Emperor Menelik, Emperor Haile Selassie, and the Italian occupation.  I still have more history to read, and I look forward to learning more about this country about which, I’m embarrassed to say, I’m generally clueless.

This is my first trip ever to Africa proper.  I have been to Egypt, which is technically in Africa, but is considered to be more a part of the Middle East.

When I started to think about going to Ethiopia, I read on the State Department website that as a U.S. citizen, I could get a visa for $20 at Bole International Airport.  After returning home from my vacation in the US and Greece, I checked the website again.  This is what I found:

ENTRY/EXIT REQUIREMENTS FOR U.S. CITIZENS: To avoid possible confusion or delays, travelers are strongly advised to obtain a valid Ethiopian visa at the nearest Ethiopian Embassy prior to arrival. This is a necessary step if you plan to enter Ethiopia by any land port-of-entry. For example: travelers wishing to enter Ethiopia from Kenya at the land border at Moyale must obtain an Ethiopian visa first. Ethiopian visas ARE NOT available at the border crossing point at Moyale or at any other land border in Ethiopia. Ethiopian tourist visas (one month or three month, single entry) may be available to U.S. citizens upon arrival at Bole International Airport in Addis Ababa in some cases.NOTE: A Government of Ethiopia policy prevents travelers born in Eritrea, regardless of their current nationality, from receiving tourist visas at the airport. The on-arrival visa process is available only at Bole International Airport and is not available at any of the other airports in Ethiopia. The visa fee at Bole International Airport is payable in U.S. dollars. Business visas of up to three months validity can also be obtained at Bole International Airport upon arrival, but only if the traveler has a sponsoring organization in Ethiopia that has made prior arrangements for issuance through the Main Immigration Office in Addis Ababa. In some cases, U.S. tourist and business travelers have not been permitted to receive visas at Bole International Airport or have been significantly delayed.

As Oman does not have an Ethiopian Embassy, I went through much hand-wringing over this warning.  Either I could take my chance and show up at the airport, or I could mail my passport to the Ethiopian Embassy in Washington, in hopes that I would get my passport and the visa back in time for my trip.   My friend eased my worries when he told me that it shouldn’t be a problem, since these delays usually occur only to people who have an Ethiopian Embassy in their country.  In my case, since Oman doesn’t have an embassy, I should be okay.

Let’s hope he’s right. 🙂

Categories: Addis Ababa, Africa, Ethiopia | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “first stop in africa: ethiopia. {preparations.}

  1. Reblogged this on a nomad in the land of nizwa and commented:

    I’m going to Ethiopia!! 🙂

  2. Hooray! Another adventure!

  3. Ethiopia! How exciting. Good luck with all your preparations and reading. We were in Tanzania and Zanzibar.

    • Thank you, Lynne! I’m very excited. Some of my colleagues at the university are going to Tanzania, and some to Zanzibar, over the Eid. Did you love those places? Do you have any posts about them, because I’m considering Zanzibar over the January break…

  4. On my website look under Africa and you will see 4 posts. One post under Zanzibar. Ron and i worked at an orphanage in Tanzania for several weeks in ’08, then did a safari and then went to Zanzibar for a few days. All in all, a great experience.

  5. We’re going too! Yeah! Friends of ours (Americans living in Oman) who traveled to Ethiopia last month and in June assured us that the visa on arrival process is seamless and easy. I hope that allays your worries. We’re taking our chances too! 😉

    • Great! Thanks for sharing this eternitysojourner. It makes me feel a lot better. Do you know if your friends had to have 2 passport sized photos with them? I read somewhere that you had to have this, but I’ve never seen this requirement anywhere where you get visas upon arrival. I hope you have a wonderful trip too. Where will you go?

      By the way, I never heard of raggamuslims before! Very interesting!

      • Correction: Our friends traveled in June and August and both said that no photos were required.
        Our plan is to see Addis Ababa, Harrar, Negash, and Bahir Dar. So much more to see but so little time for such a vast country…both literally and figuratively! 😉

      • catbirdinoman

        Thank you, eternitysojourner. I’m glad to know I don’t have to bother with the photos. Yes, it is a big country, and not enough time!! I’m planning to go to Addis Ababa, Lalibela, and Awash park. I have a friend I’m visiting who may make other arrangements as well. I can’t wait. Have a great trip!

  6. How did I miss this one? Maybe I was busy travelling myself. 🙂 Have a wonderful time, Cathy.

  7. I dream of going to Ethiopia one day. It is supposed to be magical : )

    • Yes, Caroline, it is magical. It’s also very poor, but the people are so spiritual and happy in the face of their poverty. I think you would like it.

      • yes, the poverty must be hard to deal with. my husband has family in Ethiopia, so I have heard so much about this place, seen pictures, tasted the food … but never actually visited. i know it will be a spiritual journey once we go : ) Do you like the food?

      • Yes, the poverty is very sad to me, but the people seem so happy despite it! I think it will be a spiritual journey for you, especially if your husband has family there. I love the food!! I’ve had Ethiopian food many times in Washington. There is a great Ethiopian community there…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renatemarie.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

Badfish & Chips Cafe

Travel photos, memoirs & letters home...from anywhere in the world

Travels in the Middle East and beyond

"Wherever you go, go with all your heart " Confucius.

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Thousand Diversions

Travel, food & random things

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple and active travel. They post about their trips, including their travels around the world in 2013-2014. They welcome your comments and suggestions.

60 mm

a world in miniature

TRAVEL WORDS

Adventures and Postcards from the road

WordsVisual

Mostly photographs with some words by this arty scientist...

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Stories from Europe

Travel, culture, everyday life stories from a Nepali girl

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Self-Inflicted Drama

Stories of wanderlust, adventure and occasional disaster.

The Glasgow Gallivanter

Adventures at home and abroad

breezes at dawn

the breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you... ~ Rumi

