taking myself along: journey & arrival in ethiopia

Thursday, October 25:  This journey, on this 57th birthday of mine, begins with a call from Chantal at midnight.  “Are you awake?” she asks.

I have been awake since 11:30 p.m. I’ve showered and am dressing in an outfit appropriate to Africa, in coral and brown and olive-green: “safari clothes” with a pop of color.  No safari is planned, but, oh well. The corduroy of the olive-green jacket should keep me warm in the cool land of Ethiopia, a land where temperatures hover around 70 degrees Fahrenheit (21 Celsius) every day of the year.

Gail and me at Seeb International Airport

The drive to Muscat from Nizwa is usually tedious, but with my colleague Talib, his lively wife Chantal, and their 2-year-old daughter riding along, we cruise quickly.  Words fly around in the car and time speeds by on the dark highway.  We arrive early at the airport and check in and wait.   And wait.  And wait.

Talib, Chantal and their little girl

Other colleagues are on this trip.  Gail is looking for Armenian connections in Addis Ababa. Spencer is on the same flight but will go on to Mombasa, Kenya.  Mathys is going onward to South Africa. Benjamin, a friend of an ex-colleague is also heading to Ethiopia.

Gail & Spencer, holding his yellow fever vaccine card, at the airport

Talib and Chantal have planned an ambitious trip: to Harar and Dire Dawa, to Bahir Dar and Lake Tana, and to other far-fetched places. Their itinerary includes ten-hour bus rides with their daughter in tow! Chantal’s Jamaican origins have led her on a quest to discover the Jamaica-Ethiopia connection based on Emperor Halie Selassie (previously Prince Ras Tafari) and the Rastafarians of Jamaica.  Being Muslims, they are both especially interested in Harar, an important center of Islamic scholarship in the 17th and 18th centuries.  Here Islam penetrated the Horn of Africa.

None of us have had much sleep. We are a little like zombies: tired but excited about our journeys.  It’s Eid al-Adha and we have an 9-day holiday from work.   What could be better?

We board the plane and take off at 4:50 a.m.  We fly for 3 1/2 hours, arriving over Ethiopia in the morning light.  The landscape from the air is like a rumpled patchwork quilt of golds and greens.  Mountains, valleys, plateaus and grids of farmland.  I wasn’t expecting this of Ethiopia.  Stunning.

Ethiopia from the air, approaching Addis Ababa

At the airport, my friend Ed, who is on his second year of duty at the U.S. Embassy in Addis Ababa, is waiting for me at the airport.  We depart and I leave my colleagues to follow their own itineraries.  It’s around 8 a.m.  I have a whole day ahead of me in Addis Ababa, the capital city of Ethiopia that means “New Flower.”

the entrance to an embassy house in Addis Ababa

Ed thought I would be tired, so he didn’t plan to do much on this first day.  I had earlier told him I’d be too excited to sleep.  But when we arrive at his cavernous house, he says I should sleep and he must go to work.   I’m surprised at this as he told me, when I made my plans in August to visit, that he would have vacation time.  He promptly departs for work, telling me he’ll get back as soon as possible.  I figure I might as well sleep; he lives in a residential neighborhood, so where is there to go?  I sleep until about 1:00.  Then I putter around, read my guidebook, drink tea at the patio table, and kill time taking pictures of what is probably a typical embassy house.

inside an embassy house in Addis Ababa

Looking through the arched interior windows to the dining room below

the kitchen

I have no idea when Ed will return, so I take a walk in the neighborhood past an Ethiopian school as it is letting out.  Dark skinned children in sky blue sweaters swarm out of the school.   I walk through them to a German bakery, where I order a cappuccino and a chocolate croissant and sit on the patio.  I meet a boy named Teadros, who poses for a picture.

the German Bakery in Addis Ababa

where I sit at the outdoor cafe of the German bakery

cappuccino from the German Bakery

Teadros at the German bakery

As I walk back by the school, I meet another boy named Teadros, who also poses for a picture in front of his school.

Teadros at the Ethiopian school

I return to Ed’s house, where I wait.  And wait.  I sit at the kitchen table and chat with his Ethiopian cook and housekeeper, Kitay.  She is separated from her “bad” husband and has two small boys.  The gold cross around her neck, a symbol of her Orthodox Christian beliefs, matches her smile and a radiating inner peace.

Still. I wait.  Ed finally returns home at 6:30 p.m.  It’s been a long afternoon.  Very long.  Had I known he was going to work all day, I would have planned something with my colleagues and fellow travelers, Gail or Benjamin, who have been somewhere in Addis Ababa all day.

these feet are made for walking, but for today, I guess I’ll just walk on these embassy house parquet floors…

Categories: Addis Ababa, Africa, Ethiopia, Ethiopian Airways, German Bakery | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “taking myself along: journey & arrival in ethiopia

  1. A beautiful home, and your pictures of it are lovely. At least you got a bit of a walk. Do many Ethiopans speak English?

    • Yes, Carol, the home was really huge! And the architecture inside was quite interesting. I loved the parquet floors. Yes, I did get a bit of walk. But I was ready for so much more, as when I travel, I’m ready to dive right in. I just feel there was much miscommunication. Many Ethiopians do speak English, surprisingly.

  2. What a lovely floor in that home. You seem to have amused yourself quite nicely on your own, Cathy, and that croissant sounds delicious. Did you eat it so quickly that you forgot to take a photo? I probably would have. 🙂

    • Awww, Sylvia, you know how I LOVE to take pictures of food! In fact I did eat it so fast I forgot to take a picture. I was starving!! It was fine and yes, amusing, but I was chomping at the bit to get out to explore Addis; after all that’s why I traveled all that distance: to explore. Waiting is one thing I don’t do well.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renatemarie.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

Badfish & Chips Cafe

Travel photos, memoirs & letters home...from anywhere in the world

Travels in the Middle East and beyond

"Wherever you go, go with all your heart " Confucius.

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Thousand Diversions

Travel, food & random things

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple and active travel. They post about their trips, including their travels around the world in 2013-2014. They welcome your comments and suggestions.

60 mm

a world in miniature

TRAVEL WORDS

Adventures and Postcards from the road

WordsVisual

Mostly photographs with some words by this arty scientist...

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Stories from Europe

Travel, culture, everyday life stories from a Nepali girl

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Self-Inflicted Drama

Stories of wanderlust, adventure and occasional disaster.

The Glasgow Gallivanter

Adventures at home and abroad

breezes at dawn

the breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you... ~ Rumi

