the lalibela saturday market

Saturday, October 27:  This morning, I wake up feeling sick.  I don’t know what it is, but it involves severe cramps and a wicked headache, as well as general malaise.  I blame the malaria medication I am taking.  At the advice of doctors in Nizwa, I was to begin one medication on Thursday, upon arrival in Ethiopia, which I did.  However, on Friday, I was supposed to take another medication, and then switch back on Saturday to the first medication.  Whatever they gave me for Friday obviously has some bad side effects, as I wake in the middle of the night feeling horrible.

It effects my entire day today.

I cannot even eat breakfast.  As Ed eats a delicious-looking omelet, I just sit and nibble on some plain toast.  He asks if I want to skip our visit to the Lalibela Saturday market, but how can I?  I love local markets and I can’t bear the thought of missing it. So I tell him, no, I want to go.  We have a flight back to Addis Ababa at 12:45.  I will just put one foot in front of the other and visit the market.

The market is spread out over a big dirt area in the middle of the town.  The villagers have set up tarps or temporary stalls made of eucalyptus poles and textiles. Some just sit under umbrellas to hide from the sun.  Some people spread out their grains or vegetables or textiles on tarps or blankets on the ground.  It’s hot, dusty and chaotic.

Click on any of the pictures below for a full-sized slide show.

 

People are selling everything imaginable from firewood to salt blocks.

Up to this day in Ethiopia, salt is a precious commodity for people and their animals, and is even used as a kind of currency, according to Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea.  Afar nomads and their camels, even today, travel to the salt lakes in the Danakil Depression in eastern Ethiopia, where they cut by hand rectangular blocks of salt, known as amole, and then spend weeks traveling by caravan to market, where they barter with the bars.

We see these salt blocks for sale, along with teff (the local grain used to make the Ethiopian staple bread injera).  The low quality teff is dark and course, while the more expensive, high-quality teff is pale and smooth.

Also for sale are dried peppers, cabbages, onions, peas and lentils, whole wheat, collard greens and numerous other grains and greens.  Also for sale is chat, made from the leaves of the shrub Catha edulis.  Deemed by the WHO as a drug of abuse that can produce mild to moderate psychic dependence, it is banned in most Arab and Western countries, according to Lonely Planet.

At the market, we also find traditional clothing, colorful textiles and blankets, live chickens, and long eucalyptus poles used for construction.

People come from miles around, mostly on foot, to the Saturday market.  The lucky ones have donkeys to carry their goods, but most people carry their goods on their backs or their heads.  It’s amazing even after we leave the market how we pass hordes of people heading to the market, from literally miles and miles away.

The rest of the day, I feel miserable.  We catch our plane to Addis Ababa, but we have to endure an extra hour flight as the plane makes a stop in Gonder.  When we arrive back in Addis, I take a long bath and a long nap.  I have decided to stop taking the malaria medication.  I will just take my chances.  Tomorrow we head to Lake Langano, about three hours south of Addis by car.  I don’t want to be sick for that trip!

Categories: Africa, Ethiopia, Lalibela, Saturday Market | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “the lalibela saturday market

  1. Pingback: Lalibela, Ethiopia « a nomad in the land of nizwa

  2. Wow, these are such colourful photos, Cathy. It looks very like some of the markets we saw in Peru.

    • Peru? I thought you were going to say South Africa. Amazing that markets can be so similar on different continents! It made me sad, though, to see people scraping by on so little. Yet, they seemed happy.

  3. The colors are outstanding! While I love visiting these markets, I cannot imagine always shopping this way, in the dirt and the heat, without the luxury of our indoor shopping centers. But I wonder too – is this way of life more stressful than ours, or perhaps a bit less? I guess it all depends upon what you grow up with, what you’re used to, doesn’t it?

    • Carol, I love the colors and the bustle of activity too, but I cannot imagine shopping this way either. People sitting in the dirt huddled under umbrellas to escape the heat ~ it all made me quite sad. Being sick didn’t help. But I’m really glad I didn’t miss it. I would have never known what an African market is like. The young people seem very happy, but the older people, I have to say, seem very stressed. I’m sure they have a huge burden of responsibility for their families.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renatemarie.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

Badfish & Chips Cafe

Travel photos, memoirs & letters home...from anywhere in the world

Travels in the Middle East and beyond

"Wherever you go, go with all your heart " Confucius.

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Thousand Diversions

Travel, food & random things

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Lost in Translation

Looking for meanings in words, images and sounds

simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple and active travel. They post about their trips, including their travels around the world in 2013-2014. They welcome your comments and suggestions.

60 mm

a world in miniature

TRAVEL WORDS

Adventures and Postcards from the road

WordsVisual

Mostly photographs with some words by this arty scientist...

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Stories from Europe

Travel, culture, everyday life stories from a Nepali girl

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Self-Inflicted Drama

Stories of wanderlust, adventure and occasional disaster.

The Glasgow Gallivanter

Adventures at home and abroad

breezes at dawn

the breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you... ~ Rumi

